Martindale Awards

AV Preeminent®: The highest peer rating standard. This rating signifies that a large number of the lawyer’s peers rank him or her at the highest level of professional excellence for their legal knowledge, communication skills and ethical standards.

Client Champion Platinum is awarded to lawyers/firms with at least 10 reviews, with an average score of 4.5 or higher.

Martindale Ratings

Average Peer Rating

5.0/5.0

Average Client Rating

100% client recommended

Reviews (41)

Site Rating Reviews by date
5.0 / 5.0
2021-09-01

I was very nervous about my SSD appeal and found Mr. Nixon to be very responsive, assuring and competent. He walked me through every aspect of my case and when the time came for the hearing, he said and did all the right things to help me win my appeal. I would definitely recommend his services to anyone else and will use him again on the future if needed.

— Client 09/01/2021

5.0 / 5.0
2021-05-27

During this very difficult time of my life Peter Gordon and his staff were very helpful and professional. The Social Security Disability application and appeal process are very taxing and long and Mr. Gorton and his staff were very patient with my questions and worries. I am grateful for their assistance with this process.

— Client 05/27/2021

5.0 / 5.0
2021-03-03

My dad and I have been working with Dorollo Nixon Jr. and his Team at Nixon Disability Law for 3 years. He is knowledgeable, compassionate, and understands Veterans Disability Law in a way that helped my dad, a Vietnam Veteran, get 100% service connected after almost 50 years without any benefits at all. Through the present day, Dorollo continues to fight for dad to get him the benefits that he rightfully deserves even after the 100% service connection. He is trustworthy, diligent, and understands both the Legacy Appeals Process and the new Modernized Review System that veterans apply through. Would we recommend Nixon Disability Law to our family and friends? We have no doubt this is one of the Best Disability Law Firms in the United States.

— Client 03/03/2021

5.0 / 5.0
2020-07-22 14:31:30

I have known Dorollo for almost 20 years. In that time, and in the many personal and professional interactions we have enjoyed throughout the years, I have found him to be honest, trustworthy, and highly competent as an attorney, while formidable as an adversary. On a more personal level, Dorollo is optimistic, fair, gracious, and self-confident, while also grounded.

— Peer 07/22/2020

5.0 / 5.0
2020-07-10

It was truly a pleasure working with this lawyer, he always made sure I understood what was happening in my case. My case lasted ten years, and even though I was getting discouraged and ready to give up, Peter never gave up. He believed in my case, and me. Every time my state rejected my claim, he would appeal to the federal government, who would then order a new hearing. Peter won my case because he never gave up, he worked hard to win, I would definitely recommend Peter & his firm to anyone in need.

— Client 07/10/2020

5.0 / 5.0
2020-07-09 10:08:52

Peter is the top local attorney in this practice area

— Peer 07/09/2020

5.0 / 5.0
2020-07-09 10:07:28

Peter is the top attorney in his field in this area of law.

— Peer 07/09/2020

5.0 / 5.0
2020-07-09

Peter never gave up on my case after being denied twice. Thank u for always being there for me. The best lawyer ever

— Client 07/09/2020

5.0 / 5.0
2020-06-30

Excellent lawyer won my case. Kind, courteous, and knowledgable. Always prompt to respond to my questions by email or phone.

— Client 06/30/2020

5.0 / 5.0
2020-06-26

Working with Mr. GORTON and his staff was pleasant surprise very easy and well mannered and had all the answers especially the right ones we one I will always be thankful for Mr. GORTON and staff and would advise if you got a case Mr.GORTON IS YOUR LAWYER TY MR. LESTER

— Client 06/26/2020

5.0 / 5.0
2020-06-25

After I lost my case I felt defeated and depressed. I called Mr Gorton and he responded right away. His staff was amazing! I was sick and I wanted to give up but he gave me hope and stood by me and we won. He treated everyone with respect and was treated with respect by the court. He was compassionate when I needed compassion. He was highly recommended to me and now I highly recommend him. Thank you Mr. Gorton and you're awesome staff for everything!

— Client 06/25/2020

5.0 / 5.0
2020-06-24 05:24:18

Dirollo Nixon, Jr. is an attorney who proves that efficiency does not have to affect attention to detail, as he excels in both areas on behalf of his clients. I would highly recommend attorney Nixon for any Real Estate transaction.

— Peer 06/24/2020

5.0 / 5.0
2020-06-24 05:22:11

Dirollo Nixon, Jr. is a well read and educated attorney, whose genuine desire to help his clients is only surpassed by his ability to speak with persuasion and clarity in support those same clients. I would and do highly recommend attorney Nixon to anyone looking for representation in Social Security Disability Law, Personal Injury Law, and Real Estate transactions.

— Peer 06/24/2020

5.0 / 5.0
2020-06-22

Attorney Gorton was very caring and knowledgeable. I could not asked for a better attorney. I have recommended and will continue to recommend him as a brilliant, caring attorney. My case was turned down several times when I applied, but when he took over I won. Thank you so much Mr Gorton, Esq.

— Client 06/22/2020

5.0 / 5.0
2020-06-16 12:08:49

No description provided

— Peer 06/16/2020

5.0 / 5.0
2020-06-16

He is very good and he will do anything he can to help you win your case he is very reliable and very thorough in what he does and he will lessen to you and help you understand what is going on with your case

— Client 06/16/2020

5.0 / 5.0
2020-06-16

Hiring Dorollo Dixon was the best decision I made for my Social Security Disability hearing. We got to meet momentarily before the hearing began and he was able to guide me through the hearing process and how difficult it was going to be. We were able to go through my doctor's notes and past surgeries.He helped me to be emotionally as ready as I could be walking in the room. I needed someone with enough experience to deal with the difficult ALJ I was going to speak with, Dorollo was it! I would recommend hiring him.

— Client 06/16/2020

5.0 / 5.0
2020-06-16

I appreciated Mr. Nixon’s calm demeanor and professionalism during what was a very stressful time for me. He took the time to listen to my concerns and answer my questions to my satisfaction. He remained focused on my case and was knowledgeable in the specifics of my issues. His office was responsive to my emails. I would not hesitate to work with him again if the need arose.

— Client 06/16/2020

5.0 / 5.0
2020-06-16

Mr. Nixon arrived early to sit with me and that made me feel much more comfortable. During the proceedings he assisted with any responses that I may not have elaborated enough. After the positive verdict Mr. Nixon sat with me and explained what would happen next.

— Client 06/16/2020

5.0 / 5.0
2020-06-11

Peter Gorton has been my personal attorney for over 20 years. He has been exceptional in every way! Many times when you need the services of an attorney, something major is happening in your life. I couldn’t imagine going through these times with anyone else.

— Client 06/11/2020

5.0 / 5.0
2020-06-11

Very knowledgeable and great at explaining what was needed and what to expect with my case. Always answered any calls in a timely manner and never made me feel like I wasn’t important. Trustworthy and dependable! I was upset and confused up until I called the office. He totally put me at ease! I highly recommend him and the firm. And I won my case!!!

— Client 06/11/2020

5.0 / 5.0
2020-06-10

Peter Gorton is determined and knowledgeable! I have worked with several other lawyers in New York for unrelated cases, and comparatively, Mr. Gorton and his staff are superior! They all friendly, efficient, and thorough with everything from returning phone calls, answering questions, accurate paperwork, and so much more. Mr. Gorton has high integrity and I was impressed by his interactions with the judges. It is evident that the judges have a lot of respect for him as well. This review is highly credible because Peter and the staff have worked on my difficult case for ten years. He refused to give up and let the system defeat us. He has handled many appeals, hearings, and red tape on my behalf. He won my last appeal in October of 2019! Hire Peter with complete confidence!

— Client 06/10/2020

5.0 / 5.0
2020-06-09 13:28:38

Peter A. Gorton is an accomplished attorney who is an expert in his field. He comes highly recommended.

— Peer 06/09/2020

5.0 / 5.0
2020-06-09

Attorney Peter A. Gorton helped me win my case I tried doing it on my own and was denied SSD. Attorney Gorton fought for my SSD case. His whole staff were very attentive to what was needed when I went to court, very knowledgeable to my case and helped me win my case. I would recommend Attorney Peter A. Gorton. Thank you again for your help.

— Client 06/09/2020

5.0 / 5.0
2020-06-09

In 2013 I applied for, and was denied Social Security disability. An acquaintance suggested I contact Mr Gorton. I met w/him, he took my case. He appealed SSA's decision and my case was sent to an Administrative Law judge and was again denied. Mr Gorton saw the errors made by the ALJ and took my case to Federal court for appeal. The appeal was granted, my case was returned to the same ALJ, who again denied the claim. Mr Gorton then appealed to Federal court a second time. The appeal was granted and my case was sent to a second ALJ who decided in my favor. It is a long process, nearly seven years for me. At no point was I left uninformed of progress, nor did any question I had go unanswered; his performance was, in short, outstanding, a word I do not use lightly. I would highly recommend Mr Gorton to anyone.

— Client 06/09/2020

5.0 / 5.0
2020-06-08 06:37:40

Knows Social Security inside and out

— Peer 06/08/2020

5.0 / 5.0
2020-06-08

I am not able to respond to the above that applies so I will here. Dorollo Nixon is knowledgeable, professional, responsive, reliable, trustworthy, good at explaining, determined, and won my case! I highly recommend him!

— Client 06/08/2020

5.0 / 5.0
2020-06-08

I have used Mr Gorton and his team for my legal representation and I couldn’t have been more pleased with the results. I will use this firm again if I need there representation in the future!!

— Client 06/08/2020

5.0 / 5.0
2020-06-05 10:22:31

No description provided

— Peer 06/05/2020

5.0 / 5.0
2020-06-05 10:22:11

No description provided

— Peer 06/05/2020

5.0 / 5.0
2020-06-05 10:21:41

No description provided

— Peer 06/05/2020

5.0 / 5.0
2020-06-05 10:21:23

No description provided

— Peer 06/05/2020

5.0 / 5.0
2020-06-05 10:20:52

No description provided

— Peer 06/05/2020

5.0 / 5.0
2020-06-05 10:20:16

No description provided

— Peer 06/05/2020

5.0 / 5.0
2020-06-05 09:54:07

No description provided

— Peer 06/05/2020

5.0 / 5.0
2020-06-05 09:53:14

No description provided

— Peer 06/05/2020

5.0 / 5.0
2020-06-05 09:39:45

Peter Gorton is by far the best and most reliable social security disability attorney in Broome County and the surrounding counties. He is not only an extremely competent attorney, but he is compassionate, which is especially important in working with his clients, who besides being disabled, are frustrated by the roadblocks the system has put up in their path.

— Peer 06/05/2020

5.0 / 5.0
2020-06-05 09:29:19

No description provided

— Peer 06/05/2020

4.0 / 5.0
2020-06-19 09:13:50

No description provided

— Peer 06/19/2020

4.0 / 5.0
2020-06-19 09:12:27

No description provided

— Peer 06/19/2020

4.0 / 5.0
2013-04-03

No description provided

— Client 04/03/2013